romeo juliet

craig armstrong romeo and juliet

This project marked the first time that Craig Armstrong worked with director Baz Luhrmann.

Working with Armstrong's on the score were two previous Massive Attack cohorts Nelle Hooper and Marius de Vries. They undertook the ambitious task of creating the unconventional soundtrack to the very unconventional modern interpretation of Williams Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet.

The score kicks off with the mighty 'O Verona' which features some fantastic choral arrangements. The track 'Balcony Scene' masterfully renders the use of Armstrong's trademark of creating beautiful music with the piano and strings. Slow Movements, a 12 minute epic string opus is one of the CD's highlights.

Track Listings

  1. Prologue
  2. O Verona
  3. Montague Boys
  4. Gas Station Scene
  5. O Verona (Reprise)
  6. Introduction To Romeo
  7. Queen Mab Interlude
  8. Young Hearts Run Free
  9. Kissing You (Instrumental)
  10. Balcony Scene
  11. When Dove's Cry
  12. Challenge
  13. Tybalt Arrives
  14. Fight Scene
  15. Mercutio's Death
  16. Drive Of Death
  17. Slow Movement
  18. Morning Breaks
  19. Juliet's Requiem
  20. Mantua
  21. Escape From Mantua
  22. Death Scene
  23. Liebestod
  24. Epilogue
Romeo and Juliet
Original Score Composed By:
Craig Armstrong, Nelle Hooper &
Marius de Vries
Original Score Produced By:
Craig Armstrong, Nelle Hooper &
Marius de Vries
Album Art Collection
Buy The Film
Amazon UK
External Links
Official Movie Website
Film Trailer
Romeo + Juliet (Baz the Great)